Political and administrative structure of Kigyezi Region

Political and administrative structure of Kigyezi Region

Kigyezi, a colonial construct in 1911, was a single administrative district throughout the colonial period (1911-1962) and the first eighteen years of Uganda's independence (1962). It was then subdivided into two districts in 1974, and then smaller districts in the years that followed. By 2017, Kigyezi had become a "region" with six districts, each under the direct control of the Central Government of Uganda. The districts are Kabale, Kanungu, Gisoro (Kisoro), Rubanda, Rukiga  and Rukungiri.


The 6 districts correspond to the old 6 counties of colonial and post-colonial Kigyezi. These counties were:

Bufumbira (Gisoro/Kisoro)  - Headquarters: Kisoro

Kinkizi (Kanungu)    - Headquarters: Kanungu

Ndorwa  (Kabale)     - Headquarters: Kabale

Rubanda (Rubanda) - Headquarters: Murole

Rujumbura (Rukungiri)- Headquarters: Rukungiri

Rukiga (Rukiga) - Headquarters: Mparo

The 6 districts of Kigyezi are divided into the following administrative units called sub-counties (amagomborora) or LC III:


Kabaare (Kabale) District


Sub-counties: Buhara, Kabale Kitesheni (Kiteeseni or Station), Kamuganguzi, Kitumba, Kyanamira, Maziba, Rubaya.


Municipality: Kabaare (Kabale).


Town Council: Katuna.


Kanungu District 


Subcounties:Kambuga, Kanyantoroogo, Katete, Kayonza, Kihiihi, Kinaaba, Kiirima, Mpungu, Nyakinoni, Nyamirama, Nyanga, Rugyeyo, Rutenga.


Town Councils: Butogota, Kambuga, Kanungu, Kihiihi.


Gisoro (Kisoro) District


Subcounties:Bukimbiri. Busanza, Chahi, Kanaba, Kirundo, Muramba, Murora, Nyabwishenya, Nyakabande, Nyakiinama, Nyarubuye, Nyarusiza, Nyundo.


Municipality: Gisoro (Kisoro).


Rubanda District


Subcounties: Bubaare, Bufundi, Ikumba, Muko, Nyamweru, Ruhiija.


Town Councils: Hamurwa, Rubanda.


Rukiga District


Sub-counties: Bukinda, Kamuheesi (Kamwezi), Kashambya, Kashambya, Rwamucuucu. [Nyakishenyi and Nyarushanje were part of Rukiga, but they were transferred to Rujumbura (Rukungiri)].


Town Councils: Mparo, Muhanga.


Rukungiri District


Subcounties: Bugangari, Buhunga, Buyanja, Bwambara, Kagunga, Kebisooni, Nyakagyeme, Nyakishenyi, Nyarushanje, Ruhinda.


Town Council: Rukungiri.


Kigyezi Politics


The political parties at district level are branches of the countrywide parties. They have no autonomy and are controlled by the party leaders in Kampala. The three political parties with a significant presence in Kigyezi are the Alliance for National Transformation (Alliance or ANT), Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) and the National Resistance Movement (NRM.)  Due to economic hardship faced by the majority of the residents of the districts, party activities at district level often look up to Kampala for funding. This gives inordinate control to the centre over these party branches.


Each district has the following key leaders:

Elected Local Council V

Chairperson of the Local Council V

District Cabinet

Resident District Commissioner (representing the president)

Chief Administrative Officer

District Internal Security Officer

District Health Officer

District Education Officer


Kigyezi has members of the Uganda parliament representing 12 constituencies, plus 6 district women representatives.  The region has consistently been well represented in the national cabinet. Two Banyakigyezi (Amama Mbabazi and Ruhakana Rugunda) have served as prime minister of Uganda. Emmanuel Tumusiime Mutebile, the longest serving Governor of the Bank of Uganda, was a native of Kabale.


Notwithstanding the passionate debates and partisan competition at district and  national levels, the people of Kigyezi have been brought together as one under the International Community of Banyakigyezi (ICOB). 



Recent Posts

Popular Posts