McCoy Tyner: Expansions

McCoy Tyner: Expansions

McCoy Tyner: Expansions

Blue Note BST 84338

Recorded August 23, 1968

Released June 1970

This reissue: Blue Note Tone Poet Series vinyl LP


Released: August 6, 2021



McCoy Tyner – Piano

Woody Shaw – Trumpet

Gary Bartz – Alto saxophone & Wooden flute

Wayne Shorter – Tenor saxophone & Clarinet

Ron Carter – Cello

Herbie Lewis – Bass

Freddie Waits – Drums


This is a Modal Jazz record that has a foot in Hard Bop and the Avant Garde. McCoy Tyner’s pulsating, percussive piano reminds us of his days as the main anchor of John Coltrane’s great quartet. Freddie Waits’ drumming adds power to this excellent date. 


On “Vision”, the album’s fast-paced opening tune features superb solos by Gary Bartz, Wayne Shorter and Woody Shaw that demonstrated why the three were among the most highly regarded masters of their respective instruments.


My favourite track is “Song of Happiness”, another McCoy Tyner composition, that has a rhythm that invites one to dance “Intore”, the graceful Kinyarwanda dance or Rwakarungu, the late evening dance of the Bakiga. They get into the groove and do not let up for over ten minutes. 


This is an all-analog, remastered 180-gram vinyl LP, produced by Joe Harley and mastered by Kevin Gray – two of the finest in the business. Excellent music. Excellent sound. Very highly recommended. 



Recent Posts

Popular Posts