Clans and totems of Banyankore (Enganda n'Emiziro y'Abanyankore)

Clans and totems of Banyankore (Enganda nEmiziro yAbanyankore)

The Banyankore are grouped into at least 131 clans (enganda). However, these clans are grouped according to 4 (four) common roots (ebibunu or ebisintsi bina). These roots are:

  1. Abahinda (16 clans)

  2. Abagahe (43 clans)

  3. Abashambo (56 clans)

  4. Abaishikatwa (16 clans)

Whereas the Bakiga and Banyankore have clans with similar names, they are not always the same clans in both nations. Indeed, the Bakiga Clans are the equivalent of Banyankore Roots (ebibunu or ebisintsi.) Bakiga subclans (emiryango) are equivalent to the Banyankore clans.

Click here to see Enganda Z'Abanyankore - Clans of the Banyankore

Recent Posts

Popular Posts